It ain’t yours, it’s mine!

Ok, in this post I’m gonna talk about weave. So I’m warning you now, if you or your best friend, your auntie, your cousin, your grandma or even your mama wear weave and you are easily offended, stop reading now. Please. If not, then read on…..

This is kinda random but I was just reading a website – www.indianhaircompany.com (i can’t even remember why, I think I was clicking random vids on youtube and got directed there) Anyway, after reading the FAQ’s, I felt some kinda way about all these weaves being made out of my peoples hair! (i’m Indian).
If you watched that documentary that Jamelia did about this you will know that many Indian women donate their hair in the name of prayer to temples and those temples then sell them on to hair companies but it’s NOT ALWAYS given willingly. They also don’t always know what it’s gonna be used for. Although it’s up to the temples to tell the women where their hair is going and to give some of the proceeds back into the community, I think the manufacturers should take some responsibility for this and maybe invest in the communities a bit more. Especially as it’s almost always the poorest people with the hardest lives that are shaving all of their hair to leave at the steps of the Mandirs as an offering or sacrifice in return for prayers God has answered, or even to earn a few rupees to feed their family, so they, more than most, need as much help as they can get.

I’m not saying it’s wrong to wear weave cause it’s a way of life for many women and they do look nice when done properly. A lot of my friends wear it too so I’m not knocking them at all! Also, it’s kinda a compliment to our hair that it’s so sought after for it’s qualities but I think the whole process of supplying this ‘authentic virgin Indian hair’ is quite degrading. Almost like we don’t need our own hair as much as these other women with money to buy it from us do, because we can ‘just grow more’, nevermind the work put in to keep our hair in that much desired state. Another thing that made me feel like it was degrading was when companies have a philosophy along the lines of “we believe that having beautiful hair is what makes a woman feel beautiful and confident”. Well, what about those women who have just shaved their head so your company can provide their beautiful hair to someone else?  How will THEY feel beautiful and confident now?

Just as we don’t give much thought to what went into making the nice clothes we buy from Primark, or the little kids that slaved over them for hours, women probably give no thought to who once owned the hair they are now calling their own.  One thing I know for sure, now more than ever, is that I will NEVER be selling or donating my hair – even if I cut it short. I have joked about it in the past, but all jokes aside now, I would rather it went in the bin than on somebody else’s head in the name of vanity or cosmetic enhancement. The only time I would consider it an option is if it was to be donated and used to make a wig or hairpiece for a Cancer patient as charities like Locks of Love provide.

It sounds kinda selfish, I know, but I put in the work to grow it and keep it healthy, so I think I should reap the benefits. At the end of the day, as I said, it’s all mine, not theirs, so I’ll do with it what I please!

Rant over. Just wanted to express my feelings on this subject. To all my weave wearers, I still love y’all! Even if you did pay some man £20 to jack my peoples hair! (LOL, I kid, I kid!)

Leave a Reply

