The REAL Aunt Viv…

I don’t know about you but I always wondered why they recast the original Aunt Viv on The Fresh Prince. I know everyone remembers her at first as the beautiful Janet Hubert, and then miraculously she morphed into a ligher Daphne Maxwell Reid. I always preferred Janet. She was sassier, cuter, and just all round BETTER as aunt viv! I came across an article where Janet gets candid about the truth behind why she was fired, and also that Will Smith was actually a bit of a diva back in the day. I guess he never wanted anyone else to get the shine… She said that:

“Smith had people around him who made sure no one outshone him. I was happy to see Don Cheadle become the quality actor that he is, and often wondered how he made it past one episode, as Hilary’s boyfriend, being such a fierce actor. No one could be on ‘The Tonight Show,’ that first season, except Will. And I mean no one.”

And can you imagine, they even fired Countess Vaughn (Kim Parker) from the show cause she was too good! Talk about insecurities Will!

Check out the full article and find out how she was fired by clicking HERE

This has answered a few questions that have been knocking about in my brain for a good few years!

Oh, and Janet is also bringing out a book called ‘Perfection is not a Sitcom Mom’. Find out more at her official site!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    D.London said,

    I’ve always wondered too but hey that’s showbizness isn’t it? lol


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

