Phresh Music Picks: DivaGeek – Sunday

I do a little writing for SoulCulture.co.uk and the editor sent the link to a new song from Vula Malinga (Lead singer from the Basement Jaxx) and Ben Jones, who together make up the duo ‘DivaGeek’ (she’s the Diva, he’s the Geek). I love the name and this song, ‘Sunday’ is pure perfection! I haven’t stopped listening to it since I got the link last week. The electro-ness of it gives me a kinda Erykah Badu feel, especially at the beginning and as you all know – if it’s Badu, I love it!

It’s the kind of music that I love listening to, any time, anywhere and I think it has a nice twist as an electro version of a Gospel song. Positive lyrics + soulful music = PHRESH!
Vula actually said, when talking about the track, that:

“There’s times when I’m so thankful for the life I have what with my singing taking me to many countries that I had to at least dedicate one song to the Man upstairs! Ben isn’t a Christian but he loves the song, so I wrote it in a way where it can be interpreted in other positive ways not necessarily in a Christian way. It’s my way of saying, ‘Thank you’.”

I love that because I’m not a Christian but I LOVE Gospel music and songs that are positive and relate to a higher power.

TAKE A LISTEN:

Vula’s vocals have always been crazy. I saw her live at the Jazz Cafe once and she was AMAZING! There was one song that she sang, I can’t even remember the name of it but remnants of the tune have lingered in my mind, and I’m still singing it to this day.
Not only does she have a great voice, she’s lovely too. She was just milling around the venue before her performance that day and I had a brief chat with her, not actually realising who she was or that she would be performing. The penny dropped once she got on stage!

Vula released an EP in 2008 called ‘If U Want It’ which I’m ashamed to say I haven’t purchased. That will be rectified soon enough! As for her current goings on, apparently the duo will be gigging more and I’m eagerly awaiting their album which they will be releasing through their independent label, DivaGeek Records. Keep your eye out!

[Photo from Vula’s Myspace Page – myspace.com/vulavocals]

Leave a Reply

